Local Government

The Township of Cavan Monaghan is a lower tier municipality governed by a 5-member Council comprised of the Mayor, Deputy Mayor, and three Councillors who represent the wards of Cavan, Millbrook, and North Monaghan. Cavan Monaghan is a part of the upper tier County of Peterborough with the Mayor and Deputy Mayor representing the Township on the County of Peterborough Council.

Council members serve for a four-year term of office. As part of their role as a Councillor, members also serve on a variety of Committees that support municipal operations including: Committee of Adjustment, Millbrook Business Improvement Area (B.I.A.) Board of Management, Library Board, Millbrook Valley Trails Advisory Committee and Municipal Revitalization and Heritage Advisory Committee (MRHAC).

Council meetings are open to the public.

Appear as a Delegate

Anyone that wishes to address Council at a scheduled meeting must complete and sign a "Delegation Request" form and submit it to the Clerk along with any presentation material five (5) business days prior to the Council meeting. Times and dates for delegations are subject to confirmation through the Clerk's office.

Delegations shall be limited to fifteen (15) minutes to address Council. Delegates will be advised of the ten (10) minutes time limit for the presentation, the time limit of five (5) minutes for questions and the restriction of two (2) presenters in advance of the delegation. This time may be extended at the discretion of Council.

Council Meetings

1st and 3rd Monday of the month – commence at 1:00 p.m.

Please email requests to Cindy Page, Clerk or fax to 705-932-3458 or contact the Clerk's Department at 705-932-9324 if you require further information.