Land Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge that the Township of Cavan Monaghan is located on the Treaty 20 Michi Saagiig territory and in the traditional territory of the Michi Saagiig and Chippewa Nations, collectively known as the Williams Treaties First Nation, which include: Alderville, Beausoleil, Curve Lake, Georgina Island, Hiawatha, Rama and Scugog Island First Nations.  Peterborough County respectfully acknowledges that the Williams Treaty First Nations are the stewards and caretakers of these lands and waters in perpetuity, and that they continue to maintain this responsibility to ensure their health and integrity for generations to come.